Handmade Dish Scrubbies

Last year in November I travelled to the US with mum to visit some relatives and while we were over there we spent a day wandering around in Amish country. The Amish have generated quite a lot of public interest in their way of life, and I am one of those people that find their lifestyle interesting and in some ways actually rather appealing. I am somewhat envious of the technology-free culture they have created – we often say that technology makes life easier and while sometimes it does, I think it actually tends to clutter up and complicate life more than it should be. OK, rant over…

One of the other things about Amish life that I really like are all the handcrafts – if you’ve ever seen the hand-sewn quilts they make, you will know that they spend a lot of time and effort to make them elaborate and of an excellent quality. It’s not just the quilts – it’s also the things they knit, crochet, build, carve, cook, and so on.

As we were wandering through a shop full of things that were handmade by the Amish, I came across a handmade dish scrubby. I had never seen one like it before, and we ended up purchasing one. A few weeks later back at home in NZ, I was inspired to figure out how to make one myself.

I figured that all you need is a crochet hook and some netting. Nice and simple. So I went to a fabric shop, purchased a metre of netting for $5, came home, and set to work.

Obviously the netting had to be cut into strips and tied together at the end. I initially tried to loop the ends together like when I make plarn, but the netting was too stiff and got stuck or broke easily. Therefore, just a plain and simple knot did the trick.

I made up my own pattern as I went and found one that worked for me. Making the scrubbies is pretty straight-forward: crochet 2 circles the same way (design your own pattern), crochet them together around the edge, and right before you close it off, stuff the inside with some spare netting. Done.

I found that one metre of netting easily made me 3 complete scrubbies – so it was well worth it. They have already turned out to make nice little gifts.

I made one for myself and it has held up pretty well, considering I use it almost daily to do my dishes and scrub the crap out of the bottom of my pots and pans.

So, on that note, happy scrubby-making!

One thought on “Handmade Dish Scrubbies

Add yours

  1. My mom used to make scrubbies all the time, she said after a while it would really hurt her hands. Because of that i’ve never made them, but you’ve inspired me! I think one of my next projects will be a few scrubbies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

