Welcome

The other day I was talking to my grandparents on Skype and my Grandpa asked me what I was doing with my spare time while I wasn’t at work.

I told him that I’ve been busy working on a post-graduate paper and that I’ve also enjoyed doing old lady things like knitting and crocheting. He then said,

“Looks like you’re also quite a green thumb judging by the pictures of your garden you’ve put up on Facebook!”

I replied, “Yes, I love gardening. I’m really excited right now, too, because it will be time to plant all of my tulip bulbs soon!”

There was a pause. And then all of the sudden my Grandpa said,

“Wow, it sounds like you really are an old lady!”

I had to laugh – I’ve heard that comment many times before from my family and friends. The reality is that they’re totally right! I do tend to enjoy the more old-ladyish things of life.

I was born in 1991 which makes me part of the Millennial generation. Not too long ago I was with another set of grandparents and my Grandma was telling me that her mother’s generation – who lived through the Great Depression – were interested in all things that were new and shiny. Fast forward to us Millennials and you find an increasing interest in all things old and vintage. I can’t help but wonder if the rapid development of technology that my generation has seen has created a sense of loss – a loss of tradition and simplicity. By embracing those older things we can somehow gain a sense of recreating those old-school ways that take us back to simpler times.

This blog is a way of doing just that. It is also a way for me to share my own personal interests in the more traditional hobbies of knitting, crocheting, gardening, and the like. In the process, I hope to inspire further interest in the readers that happen to wander across this blog.

So, welcome and enjoy!

One thought on “Welcome

Add yours

  1. Hey, Ash! I’m excited about your new venture – highlighting the good, interesting & creativity from past generations (Of course, creative skills are timeless !) Love, Grandma I’m eager to follow your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

